gheonix Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/ Sat, 20 Apr 2019 08:22:52 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Apr 19, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2019.html <p>12 in the morning. Managed to get out the door by 7 so that&#39;s a big step for morning runs for me. It was cold and windy since it stormed super hard all night, and started drizzling the last 4 miles.</p> Fri, 19 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 18, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2019.html <p>12 this morning.</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 17, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2019.html <p>6 in the morning.</p> <p>6 after my second midterm of the day, and last of the semester. Super mentally drained and not extremely motivated to run, but I&#39;m glad I did because my legs felt really good. I was able to open up my stride and speed up, but it felt like I wasn&#39;t putting in any more effort. Maybe it&#39;s just a night-run thing. If that&#39;s the case, I&#39;m looking forward to my nightly 8 miler when I&#39;m up that high in mileage.</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 16, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2019.html <p>Another 12! Starting to feel in shape</p> Tue, 16 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 15, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2019.html <p>Another longer run after watching Infinity Wars for the first time today. Good movie, still not gonna watch Endgame until it&#39;s on Netflix though</p> Mon, 15 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 14, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2019.html <p>semi-long run in the morning, with a 6-mile fartlek in the middle. A good way to start the day, longest I&#39;ve ran in a minute</p> <p>I would define my current fitness as &quot;frequent half-marathon participant&quot;</p> Sun, 14 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 13, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2019.html Sat, 13 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 12, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2019.html <p>AM - 8. Fartlek after the turnaround. Felt a little rusty the first couple but was starting to feel good by the end.</p> <p>PM - 4. Driving up to Louisville to hang out with my best friend from high school on his mission, and spend a bit with an ex&#39;s best friend(love you Macy). A weird but good start to the 21rst birthday weekend.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>Any drink order recommendations for the bars are welcomed :-)</p> Fri, 12 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 11, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2019.html <p>AM - 5</p> <p>PM - 4. Wasn&#39;t planning on running again, but had about an hour before my 5PM lab so I just got it in.</p> Thu, 11 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 10, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2019.html <p>PM - 8</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 09, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-09-2019.html <p>8 in the morning. Rained for the first 5 miles or so. Only ate a couple handfuls of Walnuts on a very busy yesterday so I felt pretty tired, after the big hill at 1.5 I told myself &quot;if you can get out 4 miles, you can make it back&quot; and I managed to do that. Last 2 miles were a death-march though. Time to eat!</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 08, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-08-2019.html <p>another 4. probably bumping it up to 8 again tomorrow</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 07, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2019.html <p>4 + stretching, core and steam room at the gym after.</p> Sun, 07 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 06, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2019.html <p>Just 4. Legs felt pain-free, I had a lot of bounce in them from 72 hours off but I know I&#39;ll lose that feeling in about a week.</p> Sat, 06 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 05, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2019.html <p>Had some calf pain(not achilles) during my second run on Wednesday. I rolled it out and found a huge knot so hopefully it wasn&#39;t anything big. Took all of yesterday off, going to do some biking tonight and if the leg feels good, run a few miles tomorrow. I can&#39;t feel the pain anymore, even when I flex/stretch, so that&#39;s good. Just a minor hiccup, I&#39;ve had one every time I build up mileage since I joined the blog. Might have more but as long as I listen to my body and shut it down quick like I did with this I should be fine.</p> Fri, 05 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 03, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2019.html <p>AM - 8 miles. legs actually had some life in them today so i opened up my stride for the middle 4 miles, no watch though so no idea on the pace. gonna start using a watch again soon. felt good overall, had some stomach cramps but they didn&rsquo;t start until the last mile so it wasn&rsquo;t hard to power through.</p> <p>PM - 4</p> <p>80 miles this past week</p> Wed, 03 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 02, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2019.html <p>AM - 8. Sandy was pretty car-free so that was nice.</p> <p>PM - 4.</p> Tue, 02 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 01, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-01-2019.html <p>AM - 8. Legs felt very tired at the start of the hills but after a couple of miles I felt good.</p> <p>PM - 4.</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 31, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2019.html <p>8 in the afternoon.</p> Sun, 31 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 30, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2019.html <p>AM - 4</p> <p>PM - 8. Never done&nbsp;Sandy as the second run of a day before. Legs got turned to lead by those hills. Finished right before the storm rolled in! Score!</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 30 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 29, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2019.html <p>AM - 8</p> <p>PM - 4</p> Fri, 29 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 28, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2019.html <p>Realized yesterday I was ahead in mileage and I could either cut the daily mileage down or take a day off. Took the day off.</p> Thu, 28 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 26, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-26-2019.html <p>AM - 8. Still a little tired but almost back to normal.</p> <p>PM - 4. Had a wicked side stitch but legs felt good.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 25, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-25-2019.html <p>Gave less blood than I thought, but still a fair amount so only 5. Was tired&nbsp;during it, probably from giving blood. Did I mention I gave blood</p> Mon, 25 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 24, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-24-2019.html <p>AM - 8. Felt a bit tired the first couple of miles but felt better as I went on, and wasn&#39;t hurting anywhere so that&#39;s good. Probably gonna double again today to get some of tomorrow&#39;s mileage done since it&#39;s supposed to rain.</p> <p>PM - easy 4.</p> Sun, 24 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 23, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-23-2019.html <p>Saw some vans at the top of the hill, and Dan Waters walking a little farther down Sandy. I&#39;ve heard that Alabama&#39;s team does long runs on Sandy, but I&#39;ve never seen anyone running there until today. So, with the head XC/Track coach in the vicinity, I wasn&#39;t going to jog today&#39;s run. No watch but I&#39;d guess low 6&#39;s for pace. Need a new band for my Garmin so I can start running with a watch again.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>50 this week! Any more and it&#39;ll be the highest weekly mileage for me in a year or two. I&#39;ll get that next week.</p> <p>4 more easy in the afternoon. I&#39;m ahead in my classes for the first time in forever, so I was super bored without feeling guilty, so I went for another run. First double in about a year and a half I think. I was getting those good seratonin&nbsp;releases enough with one a day, but two a days are gonna have me generally happier than I&#39;ve been in years. Love running and can&#39;t wait for when I can do doubles every day</p> Sat, 23 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 22, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-22-2019.html <p>got out earlier than normal today(8AM)&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>Fluids midterm later today! Feel like I&#39;m gonna ace it.</p> Fri, 22 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 21, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-21-2019.html <p>Really just falling in love with running all over again. Crazy to think I ran my first half marathon 8 and a half years ago! Glad it&#39;s part of my life again.</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 20, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-20-2019.html <p>knees were a tiny bit tight at the beginning but the hills loosened them up</p> Wed, 20 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 19, 2019 http://eugene.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-19-2019.html <p>same as yesterday. Moving up to 8 a day tomorrow!</p> Tue, 19 Mar 2019 06:00:00